march thirty one: a poem for grand(mothers)

How to Share Your Flickr Pictures Automaticall...

 

I have been thinking a lot about my grandmothers lately and I felt compelled to write a mother’s day poem for them. And Happy Mother’s day to all mothers everywhere! That includes birth mothers, adopted mothers, aunties, grandmothers, sisters who play a mother’s role, and anyone who cares for someone in a maternal way!

 

lessons from my grandmothers

 

dear grandmothers

 

I miss you times two

 

grandma to the left

 

and grandma to the right

 

where

 

on the family tree

 

you both add value

 

to who I am

 

for you gave me

 

my mother

 

and my father

 

who had me

 

the offspring

 

of you

 

and it is on this day

 

that we honor mothers

 

and the mothers

 

of mothers

 

I honor you

 

my grandmothers

 

my wise apparents

 

who showed me how to

 

bake and sew

 

how to make water

 

out of wine

 

how to take loaves

 

and turn them into

 

a feast

 

you taught me

 

about beauty

 

inner and outer

 

how to take care

 

of loved ones

 

and how to

 

be love everyone

 

unconditionally

 

womanly

 

god fearing

 

in all actions

 

deeds

 

and words

 

I thank you

 

for existing

 

and I know

 

that heaven is a better place

 

with you

 

thank you for reading march thirty one poetry

 

follow me on twitter: @ivywriter

 

Leave a Comment

