march thirty one: #30poems30days, April 5, 2013

reading vogue

somehow
some way
I became a fan of
Vogue Magazine

maybe it was the glossy pages that transported me
to the runways of Paris
or perhaps it’s the
all important
biblical like
September Issue
that women
claw and scratch
to get their hands on
this manual
we flock to
to keep abreast of
what we should
and shouldn’t
be wearing
next season

but really
i think
it’s that
as I get older
I realize that
these models are just people
and that, I too
can be just as beautiful
and just as trendy
even if I am
a normal woman’s size
and know that I will never starve myself
to be anything less

#30poems30days

thank you for reading march thirty one poetry

follow me on twitter: @ivywriter

Leave a Comment

