march thirty one: writer’s digest, chapbook poetry challenge, prompt #6

Writer Wordart

Writer Wordart (Photo credit: MarkGregory007)

Here is my attempt to continue to play catch up with the Chapbook Poetry Challenge from Writer’s Digest. The challenge is up to Day 11. I’m still on Day 6. Wish me luck.

For the month of November, the challenge is to write apoem-a-day andsubmit your finished work for a Chapbook Challenge.

Find out the daily Chapbook Challenge prompts by visiting Poetic Asides written by Robert Lee Brewer onWriter’s Digest at:

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides/2012-november-pad-chapbook-challenge

 

Prompt #6 comes from Walt Wojtanik. It’s a Two-for-Tuesday prompt) which is actually two prompts (it just happened to be Election Day):

  1. Write a Left Poem.
  2. Write a Right Poem.

MY POEM(s):

#1

I know my Rights!

I have to be right all of the time

even when I know I’m wrong

even when I know I’m lost the battle

to get my point across.

Even when I’ve beat you over the head

with my point

to view

my way

through my eyes

through my

somewhat squewed

perspective

I have to be right all of the time

because if I don’t

think I’m right

Who will?

 

#2

GPS Haiku

What if I turn left?

Who will help me go right?

Find your direction

 

c) Kellea Tibbs and march thirty one, 2012. All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of original march thirty one material without express and written permission from the author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. 

Leave a Comment

