march thirty one: celebrating women’s history month with an ode to the virtuous woman

I wrote this poem in 2004. It was inspired by the biblical scripture in Psalms 31:10-31, about the Virtuous Woman. I thought to myself, how do I write a poem the exemplifies those verses but with a modern twist.  Afterall, even in biblical times, women were still expected to be any and everything to a man and her kids, but all be a “superwoman”, just like today.  So, in honor of all women, those alive and those who have lived their lives and touched us in some way,

Celebrate Women's History Month

our ancestor women who fought the good fight for our rights, our grandmothers, aunts, and sisters, and our girlfriends  who are always there for us when we need them, and those who are trying to find their way, trying to find their purpose; Celebrate yourself during Women’s History Month. I hope you enjoy!

Woman of the World       by Kellea Tibbs    9/26/04

I want to be a woman

in every sense of the word

I want to drape myself

in fine linen

and brush my hair

in front of a vanity

 

I want the man

I am blessed with

to be able to come home

from a hard day’s work

and have a home cooked meal

waiting for him

while not sacrificing the fact

that I am my own person

even though I cater to you

 

while I am still independent

paying my own bills, doing my own thing

hanging with my girlfriends

maintaining my own car

contemplating my own life

I still have a fairy tale wish

for a ring as shiny as the sun

I still want to be treated

as a delicate flower

like the feminine being that I am

 

God put me here

to be a help mate

a soul mate

to take care

and to nurture

I can be a lawyer

a doctor

a police woman

even a cab driver

 

I can be a soccer mom

a soccer coach

a song writer

I can cook

I can clean

take care of my household

I can go at it

with the best of them

in the corporate office

fight the good fight

in the streets

for my fellow woman

fight for freedom

for my fellow man

fight for equality

strive for the advancement of my people

all while

cooking a five course meal

changing a tire

putting on my lipstick

and writing a novel

 

and all in one sweep of the hand

I can take care of my man

love him

in good times

in bad times

stroke his ego

hold his hand

when he is down

and still be

the woman that I am

 

I want to be a woman

all over the place

in every sense of the word

I want to love

and be loved

cry and

be a shoulder to cry on

 

I want to

be able to call you when I need you

listen to your heart

support you in your goals

while you support me in mine

 

I want to be the woman

my man thinks

is the most beautiful

woman in the world

i want to be the woman

you come home to faithfully

without a doubt

 

I am already every woman

but I know I can be your woman

and  your friend

 

A Beautifully

Lovely

Lover

 

I want to be a woman

in every sense of the word

just like my ancestors

just like my strong grandmothers

just like my strong mother

I want to bring life

into the world

love life

live my life

have you in my life

and love myself

all at the same time

 

I want to be a woman

in the world

of the world

and most of all

be the center

of your world

Leave a Comment

